top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnthony

Following a Wild Jesus

See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.

Since being in St. Louis C.S. Lewis' words about Aslan (a Jesus-like character) keep coming to mind. He wrote in his famous book (The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe), "He's wild, you know. Not like a tame lion.”


These words always jump off the page to me! It's probably because I know, deep down, my preference is to live with a "tame Jesus". I know it's more difficult following something that is "wild". It's unpredictable, uncomfortable, and even scary.


The problem with following a tame Jesus, though, is that you're actually not following Jesus, you're following an idealized, made up, version. It's an illusion and ultimately not the real thing. If this is true, then we will not be able to "see" the "new thing" God is doing in our midst.


I had a subtle belief (even though I don't theologically believe this) that when I showed up in St. Louis Jesus and I would start doing a new thing together. Jesus quickly reoriented me and began showing me how he has already been at work in St. Louis, far before I showed up. I have been in awe and blown away by this reality.


We have been in St. Louis for six weeks now and already have two Missional Communities and two Fellowship Bands started. My goal for the first year was to have one Missional Community and a few Fellowship Bands started. I say this because God was already at work, preparing the way. We have simply joined in with what he is already doing. One quick story to show this...


Kylie and I started sharing the vision God has placed on our hearts with a couple recently and we noticed how they kept looking at each other in disbelief. After we finished sharing, one of them said they bought the house they're in now because they wanted to host people, particularly around the table. As many of you know, this is at the heart of what we're doing. Gathering people around the table to meet with the risen Jesus, share life together, and to encourage one another on the journey of following Jesus.


I have to say I was humbled in this moment. I thought I was following a tame Jesus... not a wild, on the loose, King. His kingdom isn't contained, but breaking in all around. We have the honor to join Jesus in the wasteland and usher in a "new thing".


Please continue to pray for our family as we seek to follow Jesus and remain faithful to the call he's placed on our lives.


What is Jesus doing in your midst? Do you perceive it? His kingdom is springing up all around, don't miss out!


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subversive Rest

Kylie and I have been practicing a weekly Sabbath for the last four years. For us, this means resting from our work, delighting in things that give us joy, and worshipping God both as a family and ind

Ministry Update!

For all of those wondering… we are still alive! Our family has been through a lot since I last posted something. As you know, we moved to St. Louis in late September. Thankfully it didn’t take long fo

bottom of page