top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnthony

Giving Thanks

I'm a little late on posting this, so please forgive me...


This last week we gathered with family (on Kylie's side) in Springfield, MO for the first time since the pandemic started. It was great being with everyone again. A lot has happened in our lives since then! This got me reflecting on everything since late 2019. As I reflected back on how God has worked in our lives, I have been filled with gratitude and thanks!


To name a few of them...


1) God has provided financially

When we felt called to start a church in STL we were unsure sure how God would provide. Initially we thought that working full-time jobs in the business world would be the best option. However, we felt that God wanted us to raise support, to be all in, as we began planting a new church. Here are some ways God stirred people to give (which includes many of you all!)...

  • Many of our closest friends (without any prompt from us) have contributed monthly to our ministry

  • Jesus has showed up in some people's dreams encouraging them to give to our ministry

  • I received a text message from someone (out of the blue) who ended up giving a significant amount of money to the ministry

  • Several church communities have given to our ministry

  • I've had people (some that I don't even know!) walk up to me and say that God wanted them to give us money

  • We had a college students commit to tithing their income to us

I could name more, but I think you get the point! I thank God for each one of you, and not simply for giving money. God has used this process to free me from the idolatry of money that laid hidden within my heart. For this I am grateful and give God thanks for revealing this to me.


2) God has blessed us with deep friendships

When I think back on our time in Wilmore, I can't help but thank God. We have met so many incredible people who have changed our lives. We made several life-long friends who know us deeply and still (somehow) love us! They have been beyond encouraging to us (and our sweet girls) over the years and have helped deepen our walks with Jesus along the way.


3) God has given us a home

As many of you know, finding a place to live in STL was a journey! No, we did not find a house to buy. However, we did end up in the perfect temporary place. We're very grateful that we ended up renting instead of buying. We thank God for many of you who prayed and fasted for us as we searched for a place to live. God provides, even if it's not what we expected.


4) Spending time with family in Cape

This summer we had the gift of staying with my parents and being close to Kylie's parents. We lived in KY for 7 years, which is 5+ hours away and didn't make it home a lot. It was a joy to be close to our parents, even for a short season, and have our girls get to know them more. That time was a gift and I thank God we were given that opportunity.


5) Lastly (and certainly not least) I'm thankful for my wife and two girls

Kylie and I have been married 8 years now (crazy) and I am continually amazed by her. I remember people making comments to me before getting married that marriage is really hard and "constraining". They warned me of "this" and "that". I know (now) that many people project their own brokenness onto others. All that to say, marriage has been the greatest gift to me and it keeps getting better and better. It's literally a dream come true getting to co-labor in ministry alongside my wife. Yes, it has it's challenges! But it has been the most life-giving thing for me.


If you know my sweet girls you know how blessed I am. Lucy is seriously the kindest and compassionate person I know! Emmie is kind as well, but is fiercely independent and a blast to be around. Kids are a gift, I don't want to lose sight of this, and I have been beyond blessed to Father both of these girls.

--

We have so much to be thankful for... this is merely scratching the surface of all that could be shared. I hope you had a good thanks-giving and that you continue (or begin) to "give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:18)





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subversive Rest

Kylie and I have been practicing a weekly Sabbath for the last four years. For us, this means resting from our work, delighting in things that give us joy, and worshipping God both as a family and ind

Ministry Update!

For all of those wondering… we are still alive! Our family has been through a lot since I last posted something. As you know, we moved to St. Louis in late September. Thankfully it didn’t take long fo

bottom of page